Sometimes I Don’t Like The Heat Either

It’s a boiling night here in Salem. Normally, my thin-blooded, Florida constitution can handle such a creature, but now is not one of those times. I’ve packed myself into my little bedroom with the air conditioner on full tilt. It’s one of those nights that steals your will to live and you wish you could just sleep it away because that’s the closet thing to time travel we’re likely to ever see.

But all is not lost. I gots me a brand new Kindle Thing. It’s my first. I was a hold out for a long time from the ebook craze. I do like physical books but I also like having my entire collection with me and not being crushed to death under a mass of paper. I went full digital with my music collection years ago and haven’t looked back because the alternative is slow and stupid.

It ever occurred to me that maybe this could apply to my selection of reading materials. My detective skills are not where they should be.

The plan when I got home today was to get back to work on a writing project that I’ve been picking at off and on for a while now. Finally give it a serious go. But its sweaty and everything’s sticking together in this heat. I’m gong to hole up here next to my dying AC unit with a brand new little square that is both equal parts book collection and book store.

I may never be heard from again.

One thought on “Sometimes I Don’t Like The Heat Either

Leave a Reply

