Collecting World Views So I Don’t Have To Leave The House

Collecting World Views So I Don’t Have To Leave The House

Just got done watching the fantastic “Warren Ellis: Captured Ghosts” for the second time in two days. It’s the kind of documentary that makes you realize that we are all connected on this spinning rock and life is much more interesting than it was ever advertised.

For those a bit thick, it’s a biography about the comics writer Warren Ellis. If you haven’t read him, the guy’s amazing and he is responsible for my favorite comic of all time, Transmetropolitan. And of course, he’s one of those crazy, bad ass writer types that get’s guys like me into writing.

But something kind of struck me as I was watching this today. There’s a lot of creators that I like: Warren Ellis, Hunter S. Thompson, Cory Doctrow, Adam Savage, etc. It’s a long list, and it really does feel like I’m collecting these people. However, I used to think that I was collecting their bodies of work when, in fact, I’m collecting world views.

I like seeing the world through the eyes of other people because I’m not ever going to get to see it all and if some crazy bastard can go out in to the aether and bring back Tales of The Beyond then it’s one less thing I have to do

I’m practical like that.

A creator’s work should always stand on it’s own but it should do so by saying something interesting about humanity and our interconnected lives. Even if that just that the bunch of us are as weird as we had hoped.

Leave a Reply

