Disapointed with my Desk

With Christmas quickly approaching, the Mac App Store has been pimping a bunch of new programs.  One of them, Desk is the word processor that I’m writing this post on.  It’s a very mainmast editor that has a lot of power under the hood.  

It’s basically just a box that you can write into, which is exactly what I need from a word processor: for the thing to get the hell out of my way so that I can focus on what I’m doing.  But when you mouse into the box, it reveals a lot of extra features, like blog integration and WYSIWYG post editing.  

There in lies the current problem.  Desk is currently having issues with integrating with WordPress.com, which is my current blog host.  So all the features that make it great, and better than Byword, my old editor, I can’t currently use.  It’s frustrating, that I spend three times the cost of Byword to get this, and I can’t really kick the tires of it.  

In fact, when I go to post this, I’m probably going to use Byword to do or copy and past it into WordPress.  Now, don’t get me wrong.  I know that Desk is developed by one guy and he’s working has hard as he can to get this resolved, and it’s just a waiting game until this app can talk to WordPress.com. 

Once he get’s things figured out a little better, I’ll give you all more of a review.  Until then, if you are looking for a super stripped down editor, or you want to connect something very feature filled to your Not WordPress blog, I’d say give Desk a try.

One thought on “Disapointed with my Desk

  1. I understand and appreciate your flustration. I’ll throw my stupid two cents in being unfamiliar with Desk and suspect of most software that touts blog integration and with WYSIWYG to boot. But If you can’t get useable text using “Paste and Match Style,” I say the programer has a tough row to hoe. People who are using WP can’t talk to WordPress, as WP often appears to change dialects overnight. I might give Desk a shot to see how it works with Squarespace. And I did like the music he bedded in his video. Anyway, hope Desk sorts it out so it works for you.

    Regards,

Leave a Reply

