Just checking in.

It’s been a long winter break. The year changed so yay Earth! We still haven’t killed you yet. I’ve been trying to take it easy this last month. I got wicked sick so I really haven’t felt much like writing.

I also got an iPad for Christmas, and let me tell you that it is a device made entirely out of time knives. So sickness aside, that thing has sucked up a lot of my free time.

But as I said before it is the New Year and while I try not to get into people’s faces about New Years resolutions, I do see the new year as time for taking stock and fresh starts. I did a lot in 2013: I started a podcast and really kicked this blog into gear. (In fact, I think I’m going to set this up as it’s own self-hosted WordPress install, but more on that later.) There, were things I didn’t get to, however. I didn’t write a lot of fiction this last year. I have a lot of notes, but not a lot of finished product.

The month of blogging really helped. It let me rediscover my writing workflow and figure out who I am as a writer now that I’ve been out of college for years. (College being my most prolific time by far.)

I want to keep up the Internet projects that I’ve been working on, but I also need to add some more fiction writing. It’s been a while since I’ve sat down with a major project and hacked away at every day until it was done. It’s also been a while since I’ve revised anything and that’s where writing really takes shape.

Anyone who tell you any different is selling something. Usually a book on writing.

This is just a quick post. I’ve been quite for a while and I wanted to check in. I think is going to be a good year for me in terms of creative projects. In fact, this post was supposed to be short, but it turns out I had a lot to say.

The new year may be almost a month old but new starts begin whenever you start them. Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

