All My Favoriate Writers Write While Smashed and Why I Can’t

So Hunter S. Thompson, and an entire generation of writers before him, used to write completely smashed.  And not just on alcohol.  My book shelf is littered with books written while high.  I have written pretty concistanly since I was 14 years old and I have to say that I have no idea how the hell they did it.

I’ve written about once a little tipsy and it was a trail of biblical proportions.  All writing, even fiction, is stringing together an argument.  Be it, “you should believe this,” or “you should feel this way about this character,” it’s all an argument. I have no idea how all the writers I admire where able to produce the works that they did while bombed out of their minds.

Bill Mare has a quote, “I don’t mind drugs, they’ve never hurt my record collection.”  The implication being that all the musicians that he likes where able to produce the works they did because they were high or drunk.  He put this quote to Steven King on one of his shows.  Now anyone who has ever read “On Writing” will tell you and Steven King was a functioning alcoholic and a coke addict.  Steven’s reaction was that drugs had a negative effect on his record collection because they kill most of the musicians that he liked.

I have to say that I agree with King on this.  I was one of the biggest Sublime fans you have ever seen and I feel like they could have had a lot more albums if the lead singer hadn’t over dosed on heroin.

I have no idea how my favorite writers where able to write while drunk or stoned on mushrooms, and to be honest with you, I don’t want to know.  I’m really not sure how they were able to produce great works while under the influence. But I really like writing, I would want to retain the memory.

Leave a Reply

