Old Man Evans Bitches About Facebook

Have you noticed that a lot of people have been changing their Facebook photos to pictures of themselves when they were little kids?  I don’t know what the hell is up with that.  It probably has to do with some sort of half ass organized thing that a lot of Facebook users are doing.  Probably something getting nostalgic for the past because of the holidays.

These are generally people in their twenties doing this.  Childhood is not some long forgotten time for a lot of these people.  It was like ten years ago.

I guess bitching about stuff like this on Facebook is pretty pointless because it’s all going to change in a few months anyway.  I’ve seen a lot of trends come and go on that site, and I have to say I really don’t like Facebook.

I don’t think anyone does.  I’ve never met anyone in the last few years that’s admitted to liking Facebook.  It’s just a place that you have to maintain your contact information and check in on the relatives.  I remember when social media used to be about blowing off steam and having a laugh with your friends.  Now, I have to be so damn careful about what I post because some long lost aunt might come out of woodwork and tell me about how I’ve offended her and the human race.

Before you call what I’ve just written a straw man argument, I want to let you know that that’s actually happened to me.  So yes, I do watch what I say very carefully.

Which kind of defeats the point of sites like Facebook.  If I’m not acutely representing myself then what is the point of having a digital avatar of me.  There isn’t really because Facebook Josh is not like real Josh.  It’s a Josh fit for public consumption, which is something no one has ever been able to say about me before.

Or any human if you really think about it.  Everyone has a part of themselves that other would find offensive.  And I think that’s a good thing.  We all could stand to be a little more offended.  It’s good for you.  Puts piss in your vains.

You may be asking, “If you don’t like it,” why don’t you stop using it?  Because Facebook has replaced email for a lot of social interactions.  If I plan a party, I have to send out invites on Facebook or no one shows up.

So does that mean Facebook is here to say?  Yes, it’s probably got about ten more years left.  But that doesn’t mean it’s going to be as popular as it is now.  People are waiting for the next big thing.  Facebook, for all it does, is still just a website and people are always looking for the next cool website.  Hell, they even know this that’s why Facebook has been snapping up other social sites as they get popular.  They paid a billion dollars for Instagram, and tried to pay three billion for Snapchat.  These are not complex web apps.  Facebook isn’t trying to get these things because it wants the technology.  It’s the users, and they are already moving on to other sites for their social interaction.  Because that’s what social interaction is, an ever changing conversation.

Someone once said that, “the media is the message.”  The web has made this true.  That means Facebook is the topic of conversation as much as it is the facilitator of the conversation.  This means that at some point soon, the topic is going to change.

It’s a healthy thing.

Fashions change.  We’ll soon be looking at our Facebook profiles much like the old photos we put on them.  “What the hell was I wearing?”

Leave a Reply

