Cord Cutting, or Why I Don’t Know What’s Happening in the World

Over a year or so I cut the cord, which is cool internet guy speak for stopped paying for cable and just used web services, like Netflix, instead.  The transition wasn’t near as painful as the person from Comcast customer support told me when I cancelled my subscription.  They told me pretty lies about how they could get me a deals for more channels I don’t want to watch, and that if I didn’t take their wonderful offer I would be cowering in the corner with no touchstone to popular culture.

Even when I was on the phone with them, I couldn’t have told you when the last time I watched broadcast television.  (Actually, I tell a lie.  It was at my parents house.  Nothing else to do over the holidays.)  I don’t miss the ads and any show I really want to watch I can steam for free or a small price, and while I do cower in many a corner it’s for entirely different reasons.

Read: spiders.

There is one thing that I do miss: movie trailers.  When you cut the cord the one thing you are gleefully giving up is commercials.  “Why the hell do I have to watch ads on something I’m paying for,” you say to yourself.  Or to that prick from Comcast when they start with the hard sell.

But you are also going to lose movie trailers.  I have always loved trailers.  They are the one thing that I look forward to the most when I go to the theater.  Even when I know I’m going to a movie I’m probably not going to like I can always that solace in the fact that at least the three minute min-movies in the beginning will be good.

However, I don’t go to the movies much any more.  Partly, this is because their aren’t a lot of movies that appeal to me.  Partly, this is because I have important things to do on a friday night like stream television and cower in the corner.  But mainly, this is because I just don’t know when the god damn things are playing any more because I’m not having TV trailers drilled into the head every five to eight minutes.

Thor 2 is coming out this week and I had no idea until about two days ago.  Of course, I knew they were making it and I knew it was going to come out at the end of the year, but I didn’t know it was going to be the end of this week.

That’s the price you pay when you stop watching TV.  You get disconnected from the pop culture hose telling you where you are going to be every friday night.  If I didn’t read a bunch of comic websites the second coming of Thor would have passed me completely by.  At least in the theaters.  I probably would have wound up streaming it.

Leave a Reply

