30 Day Blogging Challenge: Go!

This month is November and as you all know, November is National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo.  Every year I try to write a novel and fail before I can even get started.  This is normally because I haven’t written anything in months and then I just want to run the marathon that is writing 50,000 words in a month.

That’s a lot for even published writers to do.  (I’m looking at you, George R. R. Martin.) So it should come as no great shock to anyone but me that writing in that volume would be difficult for the guy with the day job and the girlfriend.

This year, I’m going to be trying something a little different.  I’m going to try and post to this blog every day for a month.  Now I know what you’re thinking, Reader-I-Just-Made-Up, “but you’ve only started posting yesterday – the 5th – and blog post only has to be a few words.”

Well, I hadn’t thought of this six days ago so I will keep posting without a break until the 5th of December, and each post on here has to be at least 300 – 600 words.  (I understand that this isn’t Twitter.) That’ll give me a nice body of work: about 13,000 words on average.  Not a novel, but certainly a decent chunk of writing.  More than I have done in a long time.

There’s also the added bonus of seeing what I’m doing in “print” as I’m going, which should help with pushing through those days when I just don’t want to write anything.   Another safety catch is that I’m sandbagging by one day.  Each day, I’m not going to post directly into by blogging software.  I’m writing each post into Pages and putting it up the next day.  That way I start each writing day with a mark in the win column.  We’ll see how long that lasts but as you are reading this, I’ve already written three days in a row.

It feels like it’s going to be a nice system and keep a buffer from the immediacy of blogging.  While I like blogging, the fact that you can hit the publish button at any moment can make me feel like I’m giving a speech in public.  That’s another reason why I’m writing in a text editor and not the blogging software itself.

So what do I get if I manage to post for 30 days in a row? Conventional wisdom says that I should be working towards a reward other than just the goal itself.  If you finish the actual NaNoWriMo, you get a shirt, so what am I getting?

To be honest, I can’t really think of anything I want more than to have written over 10,000 words in a month, so stay tuned while I try to think of something I should be giving myself.  Or you could help suggest something in the comments.  I’m thinking a steak and a beer, but since a steak is the only thing I can cook and I brew beer, it’s going to have to be one fucking epic steak and beer.

But I’m getting ahead of myself like I always do.  First: the work.

One thought on “30 Day Blogging Challenge: Go!

Leave a Reply

